2023 Award Winners

Book of the Year and Fantasy

Calor, by J.J. Fischer, published by Enclave Publishing

Science Fiction

Drawn in Ash, by John Otte, published by Geeky Grace Books


Infernal Fall, by Bryan Mitchell, published by Descendant Publishing


The Wickwire Watch, by Jaqueline Hagen, published by Mastmarner Books

Young Adult

The Wonderland Trials, by Sara Ella, published by Enclave Escape

Middle Grade

Iggy & Oz: The Living Snot, by J.J. Johnson, independently published


Dream of Kings, by Sharon Hinck, Oasis Audio, narrated by Stacey Glemboski

Short Audio

Of Bitter Souls, by Brian Augustyn, Untold Podcast, narrated by Nathan James Norman


Through a Shattered Glass, by Sarah Pennington, Independently Published

Short Story

“Love My Neighbor,” by Laura VanArendonk Baugh, Wordfire Press

Cover Design

Infernal Fall, by Bryan Timothy Mitchell

Designed by Damon Freeman/Damonza

Published by Descendant Publishing

Readers Choice

A Daughter of the Trolls, by McKenzie Catron, published by Whimsical Publishing


2022 Award Winners


Of Fire and Ash by Gillian Bronte Adams (Enclave Escape) – Epic/High Fantasy, Book of the Year

Silverblood by Jamie Foley (Fayette Press) – Fantasy

Operation Grendel by Daniel Schwabauer (Enclave Publishing) – Science Fiction

Mina: Warrior in the Shadows by Deborah Cullins Smith (Ye Olde Dragon Books) – Horror

Secrets in the Mist by Morgan Busse (Enclave Escape) – Young Adult

Sing to Me of Rain by E.B. Dawson (independently published) – Middle Grade

Coyle and Fang: Curse of Shadows by Robert Adauto (independently published) – Debut

Shadow by Kara Swanson (Enclave Escape) – Readers Choice, Cover Design
cover by Kirk DouPonce at Dog Eared Design




Operation Grendel by Daniel Schwabauer (Oasis Audio), narrated by Adam Verner – Sci-Fi Audiobook

Wraithwood by Alyssa Roat (Mountain Brook Ink), narrated by Katie Marchant – Fantasy Audiobook

Met By Midnight by Janeen Ippolito (ACX), narrated by Kate Prendergast- Mid-length Audio

“The Architect” by Ben Kempf (Somewhat Significant Audio Productions) – Short Audio
directed by Benjamin Kempf, performed by Peter Fazzari, Jonathan Cooke, Trisha Rose, Brian Kirk, Boyd Barrett, Benjamin Krispin, Marc LaPointe, Glenn Hascall, Dominic Treis, and Josh Rodriguez

“Dragon’s Spite” by Edward Sand (Havok Story Podcast), narrated by Shogo Miyakita -Very Short Audio




Reunion by H. L. Burke (independently published) – Novella

Awakened by T.E. Bradford (Elk Lake Publishing) – Novelette

“After Happily Ever” by Kristiana Sfirlea (Ye Olde Dragon Books)- Short Story

“A Home for Nova” by Hannah Carter (Havok Publishing) – Flash Fiction

2021 Awards Winners

  • Apprentice by Kristen Young, published by Enclave Escape – Science Fiction and Book of the Year
  • The Seventh Sun by Lani Forbes, published by Blackstone Publishing – Debut, Epic Fantasy, Young Adult
  • Dust by Kara Swanson, published by Enclave – Fantasy and Readers Choice
  • An Echo of the Fae by Jenelle Schmidt, published by Stormcave – Middle Grade
  • Mercury at Risk by Steve Rzasa, published by Steve Rzasa – Paranormal/Supernatural
  • Dust by Kara Swanson, published by Enclave Publishing, designed by Kirk DouPonce – Cover Design
  • Treason’s Crown by Anne Wheeler, published by Catherine Wheeler – Novella
  • Eryri by Laura VanArendonk Baugh, published by Tyche Books – Short Story
  • The Voice of Cancer by Ronnell Gibson, published by Havok Publishing – Flash Fiction
  • The Story Raider by Lindsay Franklin, published by Oasis Audio, narrated by Pam Turlow – Audiobook
  • Wight Christmas by Laura VanArendonk Baugh, published by Untold Podcast, narrated by Kristin L. Norman/Nathan James Norman – Audio Drama
  • Why God Made Beer by A.C. Williams, published by the Havok Story Podcast, narrated by Magnus Carlssen – Audio Short

2020 Award Winners

  • Seventh City by Emily Hayse – Fantasy, Book of the Year
  • Hello Ninja by N.D. Wilson – Childrens
  • Iggy & Oz: The Plastic Dinos of Doom by J.J. Johnson – Middle Grade
  • Fyrian’s Fire by Emily Jeffries – Debut
  • Mercury on Guard by Steve Rzasa – Paranormal/Supernatural
  • Amish Werewolves of Space by Kerry Neitz – Horror/Other
  • To Best the Boys by Mary Weber – Young Adult
  • Brand of Light by Ronie Kendig – Science Fiction, Readers Choice
  • Austin Lord for The Heart of the Curiosity – Cover Design

2019 Award Winners

  • The Story Peddler by Lindsay Franklin – Book of the Year, Young Adult, Readers Choice (Alliance Award)
  • Fierian by Ronie Kendig – Fantasy
  • Fraught by Kerry Nietz-  Science Fiction
  • Shade: The Complete Trilogy by Merrie Destefano – Paranormal/Horror/Other
  • Launch by Jason Joyner – Debut
  • Never to Live by Just B. Jordan, Cover Design by Damonza – Cover Design (Parable Award)

2018 Award Winners

  • Firstborn by Tosca Lee – Book of the Year & Supernatural/Horror/Other
  • The Button Girl by Sally Apokedak – Debut
  • Renegades by Thomas Locke – Science Fiction
  • The Songweaver’s Vow by Laura VanArendonk Baugh – Fantasy
  • Milky Way Rising by Sharon Johnson – Young Adult
  • Willoughby and the Terribly Itchy Itch by Pam Halter, illustrated by Kim Sponaugle – Children’s
  • Warfare by Julie Hall – Alliance
  • The Girl Who Could See by Kara Swanson, cover design by Jenny Zemanek – Parable

2017 Award Winners

  • Frayed by Kerry Nietz Book of the Year & Science Fiction
  • Terra Soul by S.J. Abraham – Debut
  • A Green and Ancient Light by Frederic S. Durbin – Fantasy
  • Ultimate Nyssa Glass by H.L. Burke – Young Adult
  • Tainted by Morgan L. Busse – Other (Steampunk)
  • A Time To Rise by Nadine Brandes – Alliance (Readers’ Choice)
  • A Stolen Kiss by Kelsey Keating, cover design by Jenny Zemanek – Parable

2016 Award Winners

  • The Mermaid’s Sister by Carrie Anne Noble – Book of the Year & Young Adult
  • Into the Fire by Kim Vandel – Debut
  • Hive by John Otte – Science Fiction
  • The Shock of Night by Patrick Carr – Fantasy
  • Amish Zombies from Space by Kerry Nietz – Supernatural/Horror/Other
  • The Bloodheart by Steve Rzasa, cover design by Kirk DouPonce – Parable

2013 – 2015 Parable Award Winners


The Ghost Box by Mike Duran, cover design by Kirk DouPonce


Numb by John Otte, cover design by Alexandre Rito


Divine Summons by Rebecca P. Minor, cover design by Christina Hess