Congratulations to the 2023 Realm Award Winners

On July 14th, 2023, we announced the winners of the Realm Awards, recognizing the best speculative fiction by Christian creators. Books entered into the awards progressed through three rounds of judging to whittle the field down to finalists in multiple categories. We’re very excited to present to you the best fantastical fiction reads from 2022.



Book of the Year and Fantasy

Calor, by J.J. Fischer, published by Enclave Publishing


Science Fiction

Drawn in Ash, by John Otte, published by Geeky Grace Books

Horror (combined category with Supernatural and Paranormal)

Infernal Fall, by Bryan Mitchell, published by Descendant Publishing


The Wickwire Watch, by Jaqueline Hagen, published by Mastmarner Books

Young Adult

The Wonderland Trials, by Sara Ella, published by Enclave Escape

Middle Grade

Iggy & Oz: The Living Snot, by J.J. Johnson, independently published

Audiobook-Full Length

Dream of Kings, by Sharon Hinck, Oasis Audio, narrated by Stacey Glemboski

Short Audio

Of Bitter Souls, by Brian Augustyn, Untold Podcast, narrated by Nathan James Norman


Through a Shattered Glass, by Sarah Pennington, Independently Published

Short Story

“Love My Neighbor,” by Laura VanArendonk Baugh, Wordfire Press

Cover Design

Infernal Fall, by Bryan Timothy Mitchell

Designed by Damon Freeman/Damonza

Published by Descendant Publishing

Readers Choice

A Daughter of the Trolls, by McKenzie Catron

Published by Whimsical Publishing

This Post Has 2 Comments

  1. Kristin Hendrick

    So happy for the winners! Congrats to J.J. Fischer and Sara Ella! I voted for these two and am so happy to see they won!

  2. Micheline Ryckman

    Just curious why the People’s Choice Award winner, McKenzie Catron, isn’t listed here? Do you list people’s choice elsewhere?

Comments are closed.